Adobe has stopped a recent update to its Creative Cloud graphics service after reports have started coming in that a mac version can delete user data without warning.
The deletions happen as soon as the user logs in after the update has been applied. When the user signs in a script activated by Creative Cloud deletes the contents from the first directory in the Mac root directory. The issue was first reported by BackBlaze, a data backup service but is not limited to BackBlaze customers.
However, BlackBlaze users are heavily affected because user data is stored in a directory called .bzvol which appears first alphabetically in the Mac root folder.
Backblaze officials have published a number of videos that show the deletion bug in action.
Twitter and Facebook have been deluged with unhappy users and Adobe were fast act and have already pushed out a fix.